Bill King Among Frick Finalists

The Hall of Fame announced today the 10 finalists for the Ford C. Frick Award.  The Frick Award is given to a broadcaster who is (or was) an iconic voice for their team.  To be considered for the award a broadcaster must have at least 10 years of Major League game calling experience.  9 of this year’s 10 finalists have over 2 decades experience in the same market.

The 10 finalists are:
Joe Castiglione – Boston Red Sox
Jacques Doucet – Montreal Expos/Toronto Blue Jays
Ken Harrelson – Chicago White Sox
Bill King – Oakland Athletics
Duane Kuiper – San Francsico Giants
Eric Nadel – Texas Rangers
Eduardo Ortega – San Diego Padres (Spanish language broadcasts)
Mike Shannon – St. Louis Cardinals
Dewayne Staats – Tampa Bay Rays
Pete van Wieren – Atlanta Braves

The winner of the 2014 Ford C. Frick Award will be announced at the MLB Winter Meetings and honored at the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony next Summer.

Here at The Elephant Farm we are rooting for Bill King.  I remember listening to him thousands of times on the radio calling Athletics games while growing up in the Bay Area.  His game calling skills can never be repeated.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s