No (G)love for the Athletics

The 2013 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards were announced on Tuesday and neither Yoenis Cespedes or Josh Reddick won the award for their position.

In the past, MLB Managers and Coaches only voted for the award.  This year, Rawlings worked with the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) to create a SABR Defensive Index (SDI) to account for approximately 25 percent of the total vote.

The Baltimore Orioles and the Kansas City Royals were the overall winners as they each had 3 players win a Gold Glove.  It is no surprise that Baltimore had 3 players win the award as they led the league in fewest errors with 54 on the season.

Stay tuned for more awards information as the MLB Awards season kick off in about 10 days.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s