Sogard’s Glasses: Predicting the Stockton Ports Roster

About “Sogard’s Glasses”: Occasionally I will predict or suggest things that I think will happen during the course of the season, I decided to call these posts “Sogard’s Glasses.” This stems from a Tweet I saw during the Face of MLB competition: #EricSogard ‘s glasses are so strong they can see the future. I don’t remember who tweeted that, but I thought it would be a good feature title.

I have been paying close attention to the Oakland Athletics minor league system now for the part 2-1/2 years. I thought it would be fun to take some time and predict the opening day roster for the 2014 Stockton Ports. Why the Ports? Well quite simply it is because they are my home team and I go to at least half of their home games.

Here is how I think the 2014 roster for the Stockton Ports will shape up.

Position Players
Starters:
C: Bruce Maxwell
1B: Matt Olson
2B: Daniel Robertson
3B: Renato Nunez
SS: Wade Kirkland
OF: Billy McKinney
OF: Brett Vertigan
OF: Rashun Dixon

Bench:
C: Nick Rickles
3B: B.A. Vollmuth
OF: Dusty Robinson
OF: Aaron Shipman

Pitchers
Starters:
Andres Avila
Derek DeYoung
Ryan Doolittle
Chris Jensen
Seth Streich
Michael Ynoa

Bullpen:
Jeremy Barfield
Kris Hall
Tucker Healy
Austin House
Deyvi Jiminez
Nolan Sanburn
Vincent Voiro

Keep in mind I have no inside information. This is all for fun and just guess work based on player performance from last year. I listed 6 starters in the rotation as the Oakland Farm System has a long history of using a 6-man rotation.

If you have any alternative suggestions please comment below!

Leave a Reply

