Yoenis Cespedes Repeats as Home Run Derby Champ

Yoesnis Cespedes of the Oakland Athletics won the title of Home Run Derby Champion for the 2nd consecutive year on Monday night. Cespedes is only the 2nd slugger to repeat as champ. The first was Ken Griffey Jr. who won the title in 1998 and 1999.

The Annual All-Star event was well represented by the Athletics as they had 2 participants this year. Cespedes was joined by 3rd baseman Josh Donaldson. As fate would have it Donaldson would be knocked out of the event by his own teammate in a Round 1 tiebreaker. Though I’m sure if he was going to be beat he wanted it no other way.

Cespedes blasted a total of 30 home runs in the event. He hit 3 in the first round. 2 in the tie breaker. He defeated Adam Jones in the 2nd round 9 to 3. Thwarted Jose Bautista in the 3rd round 7 to 4. The finals was no contest. Cespedes out-slugged Todd Frazier 9 to 1 to repeat as the champion.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s