TTM Batch Contents

Over the past couple of weeks I have revised my approach to sending out TTM requests. Typically one batch consists of 1 book of stamps. This allows for between 5 and 10 requests to be sent. This is dependent on how many cards I send to each player. The batches will be broken down into the following minimum requirements.

2 Oakland Athletics players
2 from any of the following set:
-1981 Fleer
-1987 Fleer
-1988 Topps
1 Pre-1976 player

If there are more stamps available, then requests can be from any category. I selected the year 1976 since that is my birth year.

I have organized my batches in this way because I have been wanting to have more vintage cards signed. Also this help me to maintain my focus within the TTMs.

One of my big-picture goals is to get at least on card signed from every Major League Team including ones that have moved or no longer exist. This is a tough goal when considering some teams have not been around since the early-1950s. The Philadelphia Athletics moved to Kansas City after the 1954 season. The St. Louis Browns moved to Baltimore to become the Orioles after the 1953 season.

However, doing some research I found that there are some players who are still alive and are willing to sign cards and other items through the mail.

In my latest batch that I sent out I wrote to former Kansas City Athletics pitcher Bud Daley who was an All-Star in the 1959 and 1960 seasons. I included 2 cards a 1959 and 1960 Topps for him to sign. (I will post photos when I get these back)

My next batch (and last for 2014) will include 2 players from the 1950s and 1960s. The first is former Kansas City Athletics outfielder Russ Snyder. Here are the 1960 and 1961 Topps cards I will be sending out.

Russ Snyder 1960 and 1961 Topps

Russ Snyder 1960 and 1961 Topps

The second is exciting to me. If successful it will be my first Philadelphia Athletics card signed. The player is former shortstop, Joe DeMaestri. Joe played with the Philadelphia and Kansas City Athletics from 1953-1959. He was an All-Star in 1957. Here are the 1954 Bowman and 1960 Topps cards I will be sending.

Joe DeMaestri 1954 Bowman and 1960 Topps

Joe DeMaestri 1954 Bowman and 1960 Topps

The only reason I am sending a New York Yankees cards is because I am trying to get 1960 Topps cards signed when ever I can. It is one of my favorites of the vintage designs. Joe did also play for the St. Louis Browns in 1952, but I have not yet found a card in the condition I want that I can afford.

These goals will be a challenge, but it is exciting to find players from these organizations that are still around that are willing to sign.

Leave a Reply

