Card of the Week: Tony LaRussa 1988 Topps Autographed

The Card of the Week for November 1st-7th is an autographed 1988 Topps Tony LaRussa. This is one of my best TTM successes I have received to date. Growing up as an Oakland Athletics fan, I witnessed first hand the dominant teams of the late-1980s, early-1990s.

Sure those teams and many others in that era are accused of cheating by using steroids or other performance enhancing drugs; however, that is all in hindsight. These accusations do not take away from the pure talent that those players had.

TTM Autograph from Tony LaRusaa - 01/08/2015

TTM Autograph from Tony LaRusaa – 01/08/2015

Tony LaRussa is one of my favorite managers of all time. Even after he left Oakland to manage the St. Louis Cardinals I never lost respect for the man and his abilities. The 1988 Topps set is one of my favorite sets. Not because it has a beautiful design, but rather for nostalgic reasons. This came out during a time where my brother and I really got into collecting baseball cards.

This card is the first of two I have received signed via TTM from Tony LaRussa. The other is a 1987 Topps card.

Leave a Reply

